Personal Care Assistant for Animal Loving Lady P/T 8hrs PW £9.37ph in Norwich NR4 - NORWICH - NR4

Back Apply

Job Reference (25469333)

Job Purpose
I am a cheerful, outgoing, bubbly 60 year old lady , cat lover, who requires a  female Personal Assistant to help  me with various activities. I am a wheelchair user, and have Diabetes which is controlled by weekly medication, and have double hip replacements. I would need assistance with all aspects of personal care and household duties.

Location: Norwich, NR4
 
Details
I live in a sheltered housing scheme with an offsite warden in Norwich with my partner Janet, and our two cats, Tessa Tinka 14 years old, and our new addition to the family 14-month-old Lord Lacy. The candidate must be ok with various forms of wildlife, which range from ducks through to squirrels, with the occasional hedgehog and frogs.

My current needs are:
Help with toileting and washing, and some dressing. I use pads for incontinence. 

The successful candidate would need to be a car driver, and have some experience of handling folding large wheelchairs, plus client transfer.

When I feel able to do so, I use a Zimmer frame to help with mobility, and also a wheelchair. I enjoy going out, i.e., bowling, eating out, maybe a trip to the local shops or park, visiting relatives and the coast, weather allowing. 

 I require a full hot meal at midday, due to Diabetes. (No microwave available). A meal will be provided for the successful candidate when working.

On bad days which are few and far between, I need help with feeding. 

I also possibly have Autism, so an understanding of this would be necessary.

May include other duties, to be discussed
 
Person specification
 
Listed below are the skills, competencies and qualities that are essential for the post. My assessment of these, both on application and at interview, will be the main factor in determining if you are successful. Please refer to these when submitting your application. Due to the personal care element of this role a female carer is preferred.
 
Essential
·       Wheelchair training
·       Autism awareness
·       Health and hygiene skills
·       Domestic/cooking skills
·       Good communication skills and a sense of humour
·       Knowledge of Safeguarding and treating people with respect and dignity
·       Animal lover
·       Car driver essential
 
Summary terms and conditions
 
·       The rate of pay for this position is £9.37 per hour 
 
·       You will be reimbursed for any agreed expenses incurred as part of the role.
                                                          
·       Hours and times of work: 8hrs in total. Days and times flexible and can be negotiated
 

The post is subject to the following:
 
·       A satisfactory enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS) check, the cost of which will be covered by the employer.
 
·       Satisfactory references from two referees, one of which must be your current or last employer.
 
·       Completion of a satisfactory probationary period of 3 months. 
 
Services

Meal Preparation

Personal Care

Domestic Care

Social + Leisure activities

Support to remain independent

Training

Safeguarding Adults/Children

Moving & Handling

Food Hygiene

Hand hygiene

Autism / Aspergers

Transportation

Full UK driving license

Own personal car

Schedule, Pay & Hours
Time
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
Mor
Aft
Eve
ONA
ONS
ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep
Hour/Week
8.0
Pay/hr
£9.37
Weekly Actual
£75
Monthly Actual
£325
Annual Actual
£3,898
Annual FTE
£19,490

Back Apply


Our Customers
Corporate
Resources
Legal

© 2021 UKCIL Ltd. | All rights reserved. | Company No. 11403726 | Registered Address. Ingleby House, 11-14 Cannon Street, Birmingham, B2 5EN