Personal Assistant for child/weekends/school hols/6 hours pw/10 hours pw in hols/LS16 - LEEDS - LS1
Job Reference (9c8e7527)
I am a very sociable, happy and affectionate 10 year old boy who is always smiling and loves to dance and jump with my family and friends.  I love going out to parks, cafes and shops and I enjoy music, trampolines, sensory play, swings and rolling toy cars with a friend.  I love trying new things and getting out and about.  I am looking for someone to take me out locally and give me some support in the home now and again.  I need you to hold my hand when we are out and about, to help me to balance and to stop me from running into roads as I don't have a sense of danger.  I am at a very early stage of using PECS to communicate, but I will gesture for what I want and can use objects of reference to communicate my needs.

We are looking for someone with experience of supporting  special needs children,  to support  our son who has learning disabilities and autism.  He requires someone who can take him  for trips out and provide occasional support in the home. He loves to laugh and dance so would enjoy spending time with someone who is lively and fun.  Hours will be at weekends and school holidays mainly, with the occasional evening.  Our son is a really happy and sociable boy and loves to meet people and go out to  parks, cafes, museums etc and loves going to supermarkets!  We'd like to start with some visits to the home to build up a relationship with the right person.  Our son requires support with eating due to co-ordination difficulties and to ensure he does not put too much food into his mouth, so experience of feeding children who have difficulty feeding themselves is preferred.  He is fully mobile, but does have balance and co-ordination issues that are variable and that require that he has some support when walking to prevent trips and because he does not have road safety or danger awareness.  On days when he is tired we have a Maclaren Major buggy that can be used.  

He has epilepsy but his seizures are infrequent and usually happen when is he is asleep or resting, he does not require any rescue medication.

We are happy to be flexible around hours and days, and times can vary depending on your availability.  We have a budget for 6 hours per week during term time with a further 4 hours a week in the school holidays.  We may also require support with hospital visits or taking our son to and from activities in the holidays.
Services
  • Personal Care
  • Social + Leisure activities
Training
  • Essential PA Guide
  • Safeguarding Adults/Children
  • Moving & Handling
  • First Aid
  • Autism / Aspergers
Transportation
  • Full UK driving license
  • Own personal car


Availability
ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
Mor
Aft
Eve
Ona
Ons

Resources
Our Blog FAQs
© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved. UKCIL Ltd. Company No. 11403726