PA Required for lady with complex care needs/ All Shifts [WF12] - BANK & 1 Shift per Week - Dewsbury - WF1
Job Reference (7a129023)
Job Title: Female Personal Care Assistant

Hours: Variable (based on shifts allocated on rota) (zero Hours)

Ideal candidate can work 1 week day per week, more if required for cover.

Shifts: A rota will be created 1 month in advance, you declare your availability to be allocated work.

Standard Shift: 9am-7pm

Shift 1: 9am-7pm (day)
Shift 2: 11pm-9am (sleep in night)
Shift 3: 9am-11pm (long day)
Other shifts maybe allocated such as shorter days when needed e.g. weekends.

Rate of Pay £10.00 per Hour
(after completing training at NMW).

Location: In the family home, workplace and local community (WF12)*

Purpose of the role 

As my personal assistant, you will enable me to live independently in my own home and be an active member of the community. You will assist me with all aspects of personal care, such as showering and toileting and domestic tasks, such as preparing meals and cleaning. You will assist me to access my workplace and assist me in social activities.

I am a very independent and ambitious person, I want to live my life as much as possible and it is important my PA enables me to do this. I am a believer of the social model of disability, it is essential my personal assistant shares in this belief.

My personal assistant will help ensure I am as safe as possible in my home, work and the community as my physical disability and autism sometimes prevents me from keeping myself safe.

As a person with autism, I have difficulty expressing and managing my emotional health and communicating needs, pain. As my PA you will be required to manage this on a daily basis and learn routines and ways in which I express myself.

About Me

Some information about me that may be relevant to the Personal Assistant employed:

•I have multiple disabilities and complex health conditions including a genetic disease, I use an electric wheelchair due to these.
•I also have autism.
•I have a pet tortoise, who is 15 years old, she is really friendly and likes to follow you round.
•I have a partner who lives with me.
•I have a degree in biomedical sciences, a postgraduate diploma in interpreting British sign language and am completing a master in medicinal science in my spare time.
•I work in the disability sector, I am passionate about my job.
•I enjoy spending time gardening, I like growing different fruits and vegetable plants. I also enjoy crafting from stained/fused glass to pottery and baking. Whilst it is not essential that my Personal Assistant shares these interests, they must be willing to accept my choice of lifestyle

Main Duties

You will be required to carry out the following duties. Some of these tasks will be undertaken without my close supervision; therefore, it is important that you are able to work on your own initiative.

Personal Care:
•Assisting with day time routines, including toileting, showering, hair care and dressing.
•Assisting with toileting throughout the day this includes stoma and catheter care
•Preparing and administering medication via G Tube
-Preparing and administering feed via G-Tube
- Monitooring: Weight, blood pressure, blood sugar, temperature, fluid balance etc
-Administering medications via injection

Domestic tasks:
•Washing up
•General housework
•Cleaning, including mopping floors, wiping surfaces and keeping my home tidy
•Putting online shopping away
•Changing bedding
•Emptying and putting out bins

Social/Leisure tasks:
•Occasionally accompanying me to social events
•Assisting me in Leisure tasks.

•Filing paperwork as required
•Making phone call
•Charging electronic devices e.g. phone, wheelchair
•Any other reasonable requests

•Assisting in the workplace with all the above tasks.
•Notetaking, filing, photocopying and other light admin duties.
Assisting with parts of my occupation I am unable to do myself.
•Any other reasonable requests.

Personal Qualities

My Personal Assistant should have the following personal qualities:

•Reliability and trustworthiness
•Friendly and approachable
•Respectful of other’s opinions
•Ability to be flexible
•Good sense of humour
•Ability to work on initiative
•Ability to follow instructions

Previous experience of work in a caring role may be useful, but is not essential. Successful applicants will be subject to an enhanced DBS check which will be paid for by the employer.

Interviews will be arranged ASAP after receiving applications

Job Requirements: I require the following services:

Meal Preparation
Personal Care
Domestic tasks
Administrating Medication
Social + Leisure activities
Supporting to remain independent
Occupational Assistance

Hours of Work:

I need additional staff to join my team, the ideal candidate will be available: 

  • 1-2 days per month (minimum)
  • Extra availability to cover holidays/sickness
  • Available Monday-Sunday (all staff are expected to share weekend responsibilities)

Ideal Candidate Skills/Personality:

  • Fun & Friendly
  • Enjoy chatting and girly things - makeup, massage etc
  • Experience/skilled in sewing and other craft hobbies and baking/cooking
  • Experience of BSL or Makaton
  • Driver - ESSENTIAL (vehicle provided)
  • Willingness to learn tasks such as personal care, medical, crafting (occupational needs), massage and other physiotherapy 

  • Meal Preparation
  • Personal Care
  • Domestic Care
  • Administrating Medication
  • Social + Leisure activities
  • Support to remain independent
  • Essential PA Guide
  • Safeguarding Adults/Children
  • Moving & Handling
  • Food Hygiene
  • Safe Administration of Medicines
  • First Aid
  • Hand hygiene
  • Autism / Aspergers
  • Full UK driving license
  • Can drive a motability equipped car

ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep

Our Blog FAQs
© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved. UKCIL Ltd. Company No. 11403726