PA/Carer needed for 8 yr old boy: £10.93 / hour : 9-15 hours a week BA2 Bath - BATH - BA2
Job Reference (37b48bfa)




Please note: car owner essential as this position is not easily accessible by public transport (situated near Peasdown St John).

I am looking for a part-time carer to look after and support my 8.5 yr old son. Your role will be to be his companion; playing with him, watching his behaviour and giving direction when needed. My son likes to play outside, so you will be outside with him. 

My son is an energetic, fun, affectionate and mischievous boy. His play interests are often that of a younger boy, and he can focus on play for a long time. 

He has complex behavioural needs and you will be able to learn to understand the triggers for more challenging behaviour and how to avoid these triggers from occurring. You will learn how to recognise a situation that is becoming stressful for him and how to work with the situation to help him from resorting to using challenging behaviour. In those times when his behaviour becomes challenging, you should be able to stay confident and respond appropriately. 

Full training will be given by our family and outdoor play will be on the grounds of the family home.

Hours:

Term time – 9 hours weekend/after school
Holiday time – 15 hours a week
(Applicants should expect to work after school, weekends and school holiday.)
 

Personal Qualities and Attributes Required

  • Understanding of the challenges that face a family with a disabled child
  • Caring nature but ability to be assertive 
  • Enjoys being outside in all seasons
  • Good resilience should challenges arise
  • Good inter-personal skills
  • Enjoys open ended play eg. building things, bike riding, climbing, role play, messy play outside
  • Stamina to enjoy high energy play
  • Attention to detail
  • Ability to maintain boundaries whilst supporting autonomy
  • Ability to follow instructions 
  • Good at noticing what is happening and knowing when to intervene 
  • Ability to speak clearly and break communication into small chunks
  • Ability to think quickly and maintain calm
  • Ability to be self-sufficient once training is given and able to feedback at the end of a work shift.
 

Personal Care 

  • Assistance with toileting
  • Help with hand washing
  • Support with bath time 
 

Main duties

  • Initiating fun play activities and also letting Oliver take the lead with play 
  • Constant companion watching behaviour and giving direction when needed.
  • Support with all aspects of Oliver’s routine 
  • Giving a debrief at the end of each session
  • Trying out new approaches and ideas
 (Note:  Needs will vary both from day to day and with the passing of time.)

Criteria 

  • Experience with complex behavioural needs
  • Knowledge of sign-supported English/Makaton / other communication approaches.
  • As many as possible of the aforementioned personal qualities and attributes

 

Desirable Criteria 

  • Car owner, happy to use car for outings

I look forward to hearing from you and 'meeting' you via phone / video interview - where you can ask other questions you might have with regards to this role.

This is a position funded by the Local Authority. A DBS check will be required. Pay will be monthly by BACS.
Services
  • Personal Care
  • Social + Leisure activities
  • Support to remain independent
Training
  • Understanding challenging behaviour
  • Autism / Aspergers
Transportation
  • Own personal car


Availability
ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
Mor
Aft
Eve
Ona
Ons

Resources
Our Blog FAQs
© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved. UKCIL Ltd. Company No. 11403726