Female PA wanted for 27yr old with moderate learning difficulties and epilepsy 15 hrs pw - LEEDS - LS14
Job Reference (f631cd71)


A female personal assistant (PA) is required to support our daughter in the community for social support and interaction. The PA will ideally act as a role model for her and become a close companion. The aim of the PA support is to give Olivia the opportunity to build up social and independence skills whilst also having fun. 
 
Olivia has a complex form of epilepsy, which is generally controlled by medication, and moderate learning difficulties. She is physically able but can quite naive and childlike in some aspects of her behaviour. She lives at home with us, our son Dan and our dog.
 
 She is a fun loving 27 years old who is interested in animals particularly horses and dogs. She enjoys horse riding, music and attending concerts, swimming, bowling, cinema and theatre visits especially musicals. She attends college 3 days a week on an animal care course on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday and would like someone with a general interest in animals. Her course will end in June this year. Olivia tries to keep to a healthy diet and may need support to maintain this.
 
We are looking for an outgoing and bubbly PA to support  Olivia with similar interests. Ideally the PA will be able to suggest ideas for activities and tasks that you could do together.  The PA must be a driver and be willing to use their own vehicle for outings (subject to having suitable insurance) Ideally the successful applicant will live relatively locally to us in LS14.
 
Due to the current Covid-19 restrictions, initially the majority of activities may be based outdoors.
 
 We are looking for a PA with experience of Epilepsy and associated learning difficulties but we are happy to consider applicants without direct experience if you can demonstrate a desire to train and learn. 
 
 You will be reimbursed for any additional expenses but these will need to be agreed prior to engaging in activities.
 
Some extra hours may also be available to accompany Olivia on short breaks subject to further discussions.
 
 Your role is also subject to any other reasonable requests that Olivia or we might make.
 
 Hours of work:

 There will need to be some flexibility with the scheduling of shifts. There are up to 15 hours per week available and due to Olivia’s current college commitments some hours could be on a weekend particularly Saturdays but this may change once her college course is finished. Any scheduling will be discussed with you directly by the employer having consideration for the activity that is arranged.  
 
  
The successful candidate will be subject to an Enhanced DBS Check and be required to complete pre-employment online training.  You will be paid your hourly rate for any online training completed through payroll.  
 

Services
  • Administrating Medication
  • Social + Leisure activities
  • Support to remain independent
Training
  • Essential PA Guide
  • Safeguarding Adults/Children
  • Understanding challenging behaviour
  • Safe Administration of Medicines
  • First Aid
  • Hand hygiene
Transportation
  • Full UK driving license
  • Own personal car


Availability
ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
Mor
Aft
Eve
Ona
Ons

Resources
Our Blog FAQs
© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved. UKCIL Ltd. Company No. 11403726