PAs needed for young boy with autism in LS14 access the community (6 hours a week 2:1) - LEEDS - LS14

Back Apply

Job Reference (9c2cc36e)

JOB TITLE: ​Personal Assistant
 
HOURS: 6 hours per week
 
Rate of Pay: £9.43 
 
LOCATION​: My own home and in the wider community, including swimming, Gravity Trampoline Park and a local park.
 
PURPOSE OF JOB​
 
I have been my son main’s carer since he was born. He is diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Condition and Learning disability. A Personal Assistant (PA) is required to support my son at home and in the community to develop his social skills, social understanding and independence. The PA will also support my son to access the community safely with me present. 2 PA’s are required at points to support my son safely if I am not present. already employ one PA and am looking to employ another. 

My son can have some behaviours that can challenge he can become distressed this can vary in time. He can obsessions such as cars and can throw things. He doesn't like loud noises or anyone crying. He is unable to walk long distances, he requires a vehicle or to use his chair when taken out. He needs encouragement to go outside. He loves technology, playing on his computer and tablet. 

You should have experience working with children with challenging behaviours and training in autism awareness or learning disabilities. 

You will always be working with one other person to support Mason.

It is essential that you are able to drive and have your own vehicle. 
 
The PA will support my son to develop his verbal and non-verbal communication skills. He uses echolalia to communicate and can say some simple phrases, but I hope to encourage more verbal communication. 
 
My son can experience difficulties walking for long distances and also uses a disability chair to support his mobility needs.
 
My son will require support to keep clean and toilet via continence pads. 
 
 
SUPERVISION 
My personal assistant will be directed by and accountable to me in all aspects of their work.  They must always ask what my son requires and not make assumptions about any aspect of the assistance he needs or how it should be carried out. The PA should not carry out tasks unless we have first discussed it.
 
 
MAIN DUTIES
 
My personal assistant will be required to do the following tasks and may be asked to carry out other tasks of a similar nature.
 
Personal Care
 
-         Support my son with toileting and keeping clean via continence pads
 
 
General
 
-        The PA must ensure my son is supervised at all times, he has little awareness of risks and requires a high level of support to keep safe.
-         Support him to develop his independence skills by accompanying him on outings in the local community.
-        Support my son to develop his verbal skills.
-        Support my son to access the community safely with me.
-        Some of my sons preferred activities are swimming, using a local park and Gravity. It is important the PA is happy to participate in these activities.
-         My son has high energy levels and a great sense of humour. I hope to find someone who can build a strong relationship with him, who is patient, kind and caring and can keep up with him!
 
This is an overview and further information can be discussed at interview.
 
Services

Social + Leisure activities

Support to remain independent

Training

Essential PA Guide

Safeguarding Adults/Children

Understanding challenging behaviour

Transportation

Full UK driving license

Own personal car

Schedule, Pay & Hours
Time
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
Mor
Aft
Eve
ONA
ONS
ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep
Hour/Week
6.0
Pay/hr
£9.43
Weekly Actual
£57
Monthly Actual
£245
Annual Actual
£2,942
Annual FTE
£19,614

Back Apply


Our Customers
Corporate
Resources
Legal

© 2021 UKCIL Ltd. | All rights reserved. | Company No. 11403726 | Registered Address. Ingleby House, 11-14 Cannon Street, Birmingham, B2 5EN