PA required to support me and my son in Leeds LS16-£10.20 per hour Mon to Sun - LEEDS - LS16
Job Reference (0ba60261)




 

“Hi, my name is Pete and I have epilepsy. My wife and I have a happy and outgoing 4 year old son, and due to my condition I am not supposed to take him out unaccompanied.
 
I am looking for help on Mondays and Tuesdays to accompany me walking him to our local pre-school in the mornings (dropping off at 8am) and picking him up in the afternoons (at 3pm). We are also looking for someone who could spend time with us the odd day at the weekend for when my wife works an extra shift, or just wants time to herself!
 
Age, gender etc are not important to us but we are looking for someone who enjoys spending time with small children and is confident being around them. We would also need someone who would be confident with how to deal with someone having a tonic clonic epileptic seizure - experience not necessarily needed as we can explain this.
 
I am interested in literature, TV, music and history and having someone who shares similar interests would be great.
 
Hope you’re interested.”
 

 

Job Title:                 Personal Assistant

 

Hours:                     A minimum of 4 hours per week, Monday and Tuesday mornings essential with possibility of other hours at weekends (with plenty of notice in advance)

                               

Rate of Pay:

·       £10.20 per hour Monday to Sunday

 

Location:                 West Park/Headingley, Leeds

 

 

Purpose of Job

          

To be a good companion for myself and my son, and have an understanding of what is required for the role of a PA.  To encourage independence, wherever possible.  To be understanding of the nature of epilepsy and how to handle situations in a crisis. You will be expected to keep total confidentiality at all times and use your initiative while you are working with me. 

 

You are expected to attend a training course on First Aid as a minimum, and preferably attend a course to do with epilepsy when the next one is available.  You must be fit and healthy enough to support me in case of me having a seizure and be aware of safety around small children.  You must undergo an enhanced DBS (formerly CRB) check.  .

 

You will be entitled to 5.6 days paid holiday each year pro rata.  You will be required to give at least two weeks notice for any holiday required so that alternative arrangements can be made. 

 

Tasks

 

 

·       Ensuring that we get to destinations on time and safely

 

·       Ensuring that my son feels comfortable by building a relationship with him

 

·       To support with childcare duties (changing dirty clothes, helping prepare food, playing etc)

 

·       Engaging in conversation



·       If and when necessary supporting with the recovery period following a seizure, including helping me to bed and reassuring my son

 

 

 

 

 

Services
  • Meal Preparation
  • Administrating Medication
  • Support to remain independent
Training
Transportation
  • Full UK driving license
  • Own personal car


Availability
ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
Mor
Aft
Eve
Ona
Ons

Resources
Our Blog FAQs
© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved. UKCIL Ltd. Company No. 11403726