Female Personal Assistants wanted to provide 2:1 support to a teenage girl in LS12 - Leeds - LS1
Job Reference (bb4ad1a7)

HOURS & DAYS:              12 hours per week per PA:
10am-4pm Saturdays  and 6 hours during the week – 5pm-8pm Tuesdays and Fridays to support with showering

 LOCATION:                      My own home and in the community (LS12). The address of the employer will be changing towards the end of 2021 to Kirklees area, and the successful applicant needs to be able to travel to this location. The posts are subject to funding being in place.


I am a 17 year old with cerebral palsy and dystonic quadriplegia, and I am a wheelchair user and require my PAs to assist with my personal cares, and to use a hoist. I need support with my homework, and support in the outside environment to enable me to access activities and social opportunities in the local community using my wheelchair. 
I require 2 Personal Assistants who can provide the assistance under my and my mother’s direction.  My personal assistants must be reliable, honest, trustworthy and punctual and be able to work flexible hours.  They must have a good sense of humour, be friendly and confident with technology.    
The person I employ must have an understanding of the need for confidentiality in all areas of work including total respect for both me as an individual and my family’s privacy.
My PA’s will be also expected to empower my life skills.  The PA’s will be expected to provide support under my guidance but must also be able to be proactive.  
My PA’s must also be willing to take direction and recommendations from the professionals involved in working with me. I will be supported and directed by professionals who will direct us where required with relevant strategies to help me to reach my goals.
Having a full cleaning driving licence is beneficial.
My PA’s will be directed by and accountable to me and my mother in all aspects of their work.  They must always ask what I require and not make assumptions about any aspect of the assistance I need or how it should be carried out. They should not carry out tasks unless we have first discussed it.
My PA’s will be required to do the following tasks and may be asked to carry out other tasks of a similar nature.
-  Support me to build my confidence and independence, and to access the community
-  Support me to meet up with my friends
-  Accompany and guide me on short walks
-  Go on day trips on the bus to town
-  Assist with homework as required
Personal Care
-  Assist with personal care such as toileting (using a HOIST)
-  Assist with showering
Moving and Handling experience would be desirable due to toileting needs with a hoist for transfers. 
My PAs would also be expected to undertake happily any other request that I may reasonably make and must be willing to work with me on evolving projects to maximise my independence and life skills.
         This advert complies with S7 (2B) of the Sex Discrimination Act 1975       
  • Personal Care
  • Social + Leisure activities
  • Support to remain independent
  • Safeguarding Adults/Children
  • Moving & Handling
  • Understanding challenging behaviour
  • Full UK driving license

ONA = Overnight Awake / ONS = Overnight Sleep

Our Blog FAQs
© Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved. UKCIL Ltd. Company No. 11403726